Press Release

Monday, April 15th, 2013

Softball NL Board of Directors (2013-2015)

Softball Newfoundland Labrador held its 2013 Annual General Meeting & Election of Officers on Saturday, April 13th, 2013 at Holy Cross Elementary School in St. John’s.

The following individuals have been elected or re-elected for a two-year term that will run from April 2013 to April 2015.

Paul Smith Sr. was elected as President, Ross Crocker was elected as Vice-President, Bill Barron was re-elected as Finance Director, Gerald Gosse was re-elected as Secretary, Sherry Maher was re-elected as Minor Director, Geoff Evely was elected as Adult Director and Eddy McDonald was re-elected as Eastern Canadian Director.

Paul Smith Sr. becomes just the 10th President in the 50-Year History of Softball Newfoundland Labrador. Before taking over the President’s position, Paul Smith Sr. served as Finance Director from 2009-2010 and served as Vice-President from 2011-2012.

Ross Crocker did not seek re-election for the President’s position, but did accept the nomination for the Vice-President’s position. Crocker is a member of the Softball NL Hall of Fame (1996), the Sport NL Hall of Fame (1997) and the Softball Canada Hall of Fame (1999) and served two-terms (four-years) as President of Softball NL from 2009-2012.

Bill Barron returns to his familiar role as the Finance Director for Softball NL and with that begins his 14th year serving on the Softball NL Executive. Barron is a member of the Softball NL Hall of Fame (1981), the Sport NL Hall of Fame (2010) and the Softball Canada Hall of Fame (2011) and has held the following positions on the Softball NL Executive: Statistician (1964), Secretary (1969), Treasurer (1996-1998, 2000-2002) and Finance Director (2003-2005, 2011-Present).

Gerald Gosse returns as the Secretary for Softball NL. Gosse was elected in 2011 and will begin his second term as Secretary in 2013.

Sherry Maher returns to her role as the Minor Director for Softball NL and with that begins her third straight term serving on the Softball NL Executive. Maher was the recipient of the Softball NL Bob Whelan Memorial Award (2010) and the Softball Canada Rose Hodgson Volunteer of the Year Award (2011) and has been the driving force behind minor softball in the Province since 2009.

Geoff Evely is no stranger to the Softball diamonds in NL and was a member of the NL2 3Cheers Pub Bud Light Fastpitch team that captured the first ever Gold Medal for the Province at the Canadian Senior Men’s Nationals in 2012. Evely was nominated for and accepted the Adult Director’s position and will begin his first term in 2013.

Ed McDonald returns as the Eastern Canadian Director for Softball NL. McDonald was elected as Eastern Canadian Director in 2011 and will begin his second term as EC Director in 2013.