Newfoundland and Labrador’s Top Athletes Honoured

Executive Council

Tourism, Culture, Arts and Recreation

October 4, 2021

Over 150 of the province’s top athletes and recipients of the Team Gushue Awards were recognized today by the Honourable Andrew Furey, Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador, at the 17th annual Premier’s Athletic Awards in St. John’s.

The awards program recognizes athletic excellence and provides financial support to help offset the costs of training and competition. Grants ranging from $500 to $1,500 are awarded based on the level of competition and the athletes’ respective accomplishments.

The Team Gushue Awards are presented annually to one female and one male who excel in athletics and academics. This year’s winners, who receive $5,000, are:

  • Abby Newhook who was named captain of the varsity hockey team at Tabor Academy in 2020 and her team placed second in the New England Prep School League. In 2020, she received an invitation to the Hockey Canada Under 18 Women’s National Team Camp.  She is currently a freshman at Boston College and was awarded a full scholarship to play with the Boston College Eagles.
  • Nathan Young who skipped his team towards a first place finish in the Under-18 Provincial Curling Championships. He also represented Canada in male curling and mixed doubles curling at the 2020 Youth Olympics; in the mixed double curling competition, he was paired with a teammate from Hungary and won a gold medal.

For a complete list of recipients of the Premier’s Athletic Awards, please see the backgrounder here


“The Premier’s Athletic Awards recognize some of the top athletes in our province, and supports them in their pursuit of excellence. Newfoundland and Labrador athletes continue to excel in sport, at local, provincial, national and international levels and we are proud of all their achievements. Congratulations to this year’s recipients for continued success in their athletic journey.”

Honourable Andrew Furey – Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador 

“These athletes have accomplished so much in their athletic pursuits. Our continued investment in sport and recreation will ensure that aspiring athletes can participate and excel as they pursue their own personal bests through hard work and determination. Congratulations to this year’s award winners. Whether individual or as part of a team, they serve as an inspiration to future generations.”

Honourable Steve Crocker – Minister of Tourism, Culture, Arts and Recreation 


Softball NL Would Like To Take This Opportunity To Congratulate The Team Gushue Award Winners And The Premier’s Athletic Awards Recipients!