Softballers Among Finalists For 2022 Provincial Awards

Softball NL Note: Awards Are For The 2021 Season.

Softball NL is pleased to announce that Sean Cadigan and Colin Walsh have been named Finalists for the 2022 Provincial Annual Awards.

In recognition of the recipients outstanding achievements, the 2022 Sport NL Provincial Annual Awards will be celebrated through a virtual celebration on Monday, September 12, 2022 at 4:00pm on the Sport NL Facebook Page.

Sean Cadigan (Logy Bay) has been named a Finalist for the 2022 Executive of the Year Award. The other 2 Finalists are Chris Bartlett (Soccer) and Greg Barton (Hockey). The winner will be presented with the Graham Snow Memorial Award.

Sean Cadigan (Logy Bay) has made a significant impact on Minor Softball for the last five years (2017-2021). His commitment to the Grass Roots level is well established with his work with the U8 and U10 Timbits Program, as well as being a member of Timbits Softball with Softball Canada. In 2021, Sean was once again instrumental in the operation of the U12, U14, U16 and U19 Leagues. He also revised and updated the Minor Fastpitch, Slo-Pitch and Timbits Rules and Competition Notes, established the Softball NL High Performance Program Policy, the Softball NL Parent and Athlete Code of Conduct and was the leader on the Softball NL Performance Plan Project Sport Excellence Committee. Despite COVID-19 and under Sean’s leadership and guidance, the Softball NL Minor Membership Registration in 2021 was 2469 (1557 Males & 912 Females). The 912 Females registered was the highest in 5 years. In addition to his Minor Director role, Sean also serves on the Softball NL Coaching Committee, Finance Committee and Hosting Committees for Nationals and Eastern Canadians.

Colin Walsh (Petty Harbour) has been named a Finalist for the 2022 Senior Male Athlete of the Year Award. The other 2 Finalists are Emmanuel Dolo (Soccer) and Liam Hickey (ParaHockey). The winner will be presented with the Ferd Hayward Memorial Award.

Colin Walsh (Petty Harbour) enjoyed a successful season on the Local, Provincial and National levels in 2021. Colin turned in three MVP Performances leading 3 Cheers Pub Miller Lite to three Championships – Regular Season (20-4 Record), Playoffs (7-3 Record) and Provincial (5-0 Record). He also captured the following awards for his performance during the Regular Season – Top Batter (35-66 .530BA), Pitching Wins (10) and Player of the Month Honours (June, September/October). He was named 1-of-12 Core Players for the Softball Canada Men’s National Team and selected to represent Canada at the 2022 Men’s Pan American Championships in Parana, Argentina.

Softball NL Would Like To Take This Opportunity To Congratulate Sean Cadigan And Colin Walsh On Being Named Finalists For The 2022 Provincial Annual Awards.