SportNL 2023 Provincial Awards (Finalists)

Sport Newfoundland and Labrador (SportNL) is thrilled to announce the finalists to be celebrated at the upcoming Sport NL 2023 Annual Provincial Awards event taking place on Saturday, April 13, 2024, at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. The event will celebrate the sporting successes and contributions of athletes, coaches, teams, executives, officials, and volunteers within the sports community from our province for their accomplishments in 2023.

The 3 Finalists for each of the 10 Award Categories were selected, based on voting results, from a committee comprised of individuals from the media and sports community. The finalists for each category are listed below…

Junior Female Athlete of the Year (Margaret Davis Memorial Award)
Jaida Lee – Baseball
Sarah Reid – Basketball
Brooklyn Wolfrey – Badminton/Aboriginal Sport

Junior Male Athlete of the Year (Joseph P. Mullins Memorial Award)
Gavin Baggs – Para Hockey
Sawyer LeBlanc – Athletics
Chris Weeks – Swimming

Executive of the Year (Graham Snow Memorial Award)
Roxanne Butler – Rugby
Sean Cadigan – Softball
Krista Tobin – Soccer

Volunteer of the Year (Frank W. Graham Memorial Award)
Karen Adams – Basketball
Rebecca Gladney – Artistic Swimming
Deidre MacDonnell – Soccer

Female Coach of the Year
Duffy Earle – Swimming
Alicia MacDonald – Hockey
Rosemary Ryan – Special Olympics

Male Coach of the Year (John Drinkwater Memorial Award)
Jeff Butt – Special Olympics
Peter Densmore – Rugby
Chris Roberts – Swimming

Team of the Year (Edward P. Browne Memorial Award)
Holy Cross – Soccer
Girls 19U NL Selects Ball Hockey Team – Ball Hockey
Team Gushue – Curling

Official of the Year Award
Gord Farrell – Soccer
Christian Dawe – Hockey
Kiana Laundry – Taekwondo

Senior Female Athlete of the Year (Elizabeth Swan Memorial Award)
Kate Bazeley – Athletics
Abigail Newhook – Hockey
Jane Pope – Soccer

Senior Male Athlete of the Year (Ferd Hayward Memorial Award)
Michael Budden – Special Olympics/Athletics
Gleb Evstigneev – Gymnastics
Liam Hickey – Para Hockey

The finalists represent 16 sports from communities all throughout Newfoundland and Labrador demonstrating the strong talent and leadership that we have within the province’s sports community.


Softball NL Would Like To Take This Opportunity To Congratulate All Of The Finalists For The SportNL 2023 Annual Provincial Awards!


Softball NL Would Like To Take This Opportunity To Congratulate Softballer Sean Cadigan (Executive of the Year Finalist) On Being Named A Finalist For The SportNL 2023 Annual Provincial Awards.

Congratulations Sean!