Softball Canada Announces 2023 WBSC U18 Men’s World Cup Roster

Softball Canada is pleased to announce the list of athletes who have been named to the Canadian U18 Men’s National Team that will compete in the U18 Men’s Softball World Cup from November 11-19 in Hermosillo, Mexico.

The team has been selected by the coaching staff consisting of head coach Mark Quinn (Mermaid, PEI), assistant coach Jean-Yves Doucet (St-Leonard-d’Aston, QC), and bench staff Garth Perrin (Stewiacke, NS) following a selection process that included regional identification camps held in 2022, scouting at major tournaments over the last two years and performance at the recently completed Pan American Championship.

Team Canada qualified for the World Cup with a Bronze-Medal finish at the WBSC Americans Pan American Championship in Sincelejo, Colombia earlier this month.

The WBSC U18 Men’s Softball World Cup will feature a total of 12 Teams – Argentina, Australia, Canada, Colombia, Czech Republic, Israel, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Singapore, the United States and Venezuela. The teams will be separated into two groups for the Preliminary Round, with the Top 3 from each Division advancing to the Super Round.

The athletes who will represent Canada at the WBSC U18 Men’s Softball World Cup are:

Owen Bilinsky Port Dover, Ont.
Blake Brubacher Newton, Ont
Nolan Bultena Arthur, Ont.
Cohen Christner New Hamburg, Ont.
Riley Good Wingham, Ont.
Adrian Green Carbonear, N.L.
Conner Hopper Fitzroy Harbour, Ont.
Mika Houle St-Leonard-d’Aston, Que.
Sharl Leclerc Sainte-Claire, Que.
Alex McGillivray Durham, Ont.
Nic Neid Terrace, B.C.
Rayn Ray Saskatoon, Sask.
Danny Scott Stratford, Ont.
Nate Thiessen Surrey, B.C.
Camden Weatherbee Broofield, N.S.
Joseph Weiler Hepworth, Ont.
Note: The eligibility birth years for this event is 2004 or later due to the postponement of the U18 Men’s World Cup that was originally supposed to take place in 2022.
Head Coach Mark Quinn Mermaid, P.E.I.
Assistant Coach Jean-Yves Doucet St-Léonard-d’Aston, Que.
Bench Staff Garth Perrin Stewiacke, N.S.
Trainer Darren Smale St. Marys, Ont.
Manager Gilles LeBlanc Dieppe, N.B.