News Release: Children, Seniors and Social Development

May 15, 2018

Premier Ball Presents Athletic Awards to Province’s Top Athletes

Over 120 of the province’s top athletes were recognized today by the Honourable Dwight Ball, Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador, at the 14th Annual Premier’s Athletic Awards in St. John’s.

The awards program recognizes athletic excellence and provides financial support to help offset the costs of training and competition. Grants ranging from $500 to $1500 are awarded based on the level of competition and the athletes’ respective accomplishments.

Also presented today were the Team Gushue Awards. These awards are in honour of Team Gushue’s Gold Medal win at the 2006 Winter Olympics. Each award is valued at $5000 and is presented annually to one female and one male who excel both athletically and academically. This year’s winners are Angel Hiltz-Morrell of Avondale (Wrestling) and Jordan Pomeroy of Placentia (Softball).

Angel Hiltz-Morrell is a Grade 11 student at Roncalli High School. She won a silver medal in wrestling at the 2017 Canada Summer Games in Winnipeg and was named flag-bearer for Team Newfoundland and Labrador at the Canada Games closing ceremonies.

Jordan Pomeroy is a first year Kinesiology student at Memorial University in St. John’s. His performance at three national championships in 2017 earned him a place on the Canadian Junior National team that is competing at the World Championships in Saskatchewan in July 2018.

For a complete list of recipients of the Premier’s Athletic Awards, please see the backgrounder below.

“The Premier’s Athletic Awards recognizes some of the best athletes in our province, and supports them in their pursuit of excellence by providing financial awards to offset training and competition costs associated with their athletic development. Newfoundland and Labrador athletes continue to excel in sport, at local, provincial, national and international levels and we take great pride in their achievements. I wish this year’s recipients continued success in their athletic careers.”

Honourable Dwight Ball
Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador

“The accomplishments of these athletes, whether individual or as part of a team, serve as an inspiration to future generations. Our continued investment in sport and recreation will ensure that aspiring athletes can participate and excel as they pursue their own personal bests through hard work and determination. Congratulations to this year’s award winners. Thank you for leading by example to show us all what we can achieve through healthy active living.”

Honourable Lisa Dempster
Minister of Children, Seniors and Social Development

2018 Premier’s Athletic Awards and Team Gushue Recipients

Sports: Names (Hometowns)

Jennifer Boland (St. John’s)
Camryn Bonia (St. John’s)
Nicole Chan (St. John’s)
Josh Hamilton (St. John’s)
Julia Howley (St. John’s)
Eric Knight (St. John’s)
Evan Knight (St. John’s)
Levi Moulton (Paradise)

Cameron Brewer (Paradise)
Madelyn Healey (St. John’s)

Jean Pierre Agbesse (St. John’s)
Brianna Butler (Portugal Cove-St. Phillips)
Maria Carroll (St. John’s)
Colin Connors (St. John’s)
Kelsey Crocker (St. John’s)
Sammi Deakin-Sharpe (St. John’s)
Cole Long (St. John’s)
Haille Nickerson (St. John’s)
Emma Power (Goulds)
Brett Warren (St. John’s)

Seamus Boyd-Porter (St. John’s)

Brooke King (Paradise)
Courtney Lucas (St. John’s)
John McDonald (St. John’s)

Cross Country Skiing
Hugh Warkentin (Corner Brook)

Daniel Bruce (Corner Brook)
Mackenzie Glynn (Paradise)
Stephen Trickett (St. John’s)

Ian Coxon (Gander)

Jacob Billard (Logy Bay)
Cassandra Blackmore (Torbay)

Figure Skating
Rebecca Bennett (Corner Brook)
Caylie Rose Blake (Corner Brook)
Hayley Dalton (Conception Bay South)
Jenna Efford (Bareneed)
McKenna Mercer (St. John’s)

Andrew Bruce (Corner Brook)
Blair Bursey (Gander)
Taylor Cormier (Corner Brook)

Hayley Carlson (St. John’s)
Michael Drover (St. John’s)
Jillian Hutchings (Paradise)
Lauren Mills (Paradise)
Sarah Pace (St. John’s)
Megan Skinner (St. John’s)

Leslie Claire Amminson (St. John’s)
Rahul Asokan (St. John’s)
Alex Carew (St. John’s)
Michael Gaulton (St. John’s)
Lance Parsons (St. John’s)

Ryan Hoskins (St. Albans)
Abby Newhook (St. John’s)
Alex Newhook (St. John’s)
Ashley Stratton (Mount Pearl)

Jack Hudson (St. John’s)

Andrew Au (Conception Bay South)
Christopher Au (Conception Bay South)
Tyson Besso (St. John’s)
Christopher Coady (Flatrock)
Emily Reglar (Flatrock)

Nicholas Quinn (Paradise)
Brooklyn Wolfrey (Rigolet)

Kristyn Collins (St. John’s)
Lois Martin (St. John’s)
Hayley Redmond (St. John’s)

Leah Burke (St. John’s)
Mark Power (Conception Bay South)
Michael Thistle (St. John’s)
Anna Walsh (Mount Pearl)

Campbell Clarke (St. John’s)
Thomas Hagan (St. John’s)
Evan MacKenzie (St. John’s)
Madeline Pickard (St. John’s)
Sophie Rose Pickard (St. John’s)
Mitchell Rogers (Portugal Cove-St. Phillips)

Livi Allen (St. John’s)
Ryan Combden (Bristol’s Hope)

Alyssa Armstrong (St. John’s)
Jacob Grant (St. John’s)
Jack Haywood (St. John’s)
Tyler Kirby (St. John’s)
Teri Murphy (St. John’s)
Jessie Noseworthy (St. John’s)
Lauren Taylor (St. John’s)
Nicole Torraville (St. John’s)
Sydney Walsh (St. John’s)
Keisha Younge (Mount Pearl)

Calista Corbett (Holyrood)
Jordan Pomeroy (Placentia)
Mark Stack (Petty Harbour-Maddox Cove)
Mitchell Stack (Petty Harbour-Maddox Cove)

Noah Cumby (St. John’s)
Samuel Leawood (St. John’s)
Veronica Reid (St. John’s)
Emily Ricketts (St. John’s)
Kate Sullivan (St. John’s)

Synchronized Swimming
Mayah Knott (St. John’s)
Jennifer Walsh (St. John’s)

Table Tennis
Michael Hiscock (Bay Roberts)
Brianna Warren (Robert’s Arm)
Sarah Warren (Robert’s Arm)
Ty Winsor (Robert’s Arm)

Taylor Fitzpatrick (Conception Bay South)
Alexandra Green (Torbay)

Target Shooting
Samantha Marsh (Mount Pearl)
Kelsey Anne Power (Bay Bulls)

Rogan Betts (St. John’s)
Aiden Drover-Mattinen (Portugal Cove-St. Philips)
Liam Drover-Mattinen (Portugal Cove-St. Philips)
Jasmine Rahman (St. John’s)

Dylan Morawski (Gander)
Marcella Whelan (St. John’s)

Ultimate Frisbee
Luke Dyer (Logy Bay)

Nicholas Bill (Mount Pearl)
Jack Daly (St. John’s)
Sarah Dawe (Mount Pearl)
Aloysius Ducey (Mount Pearl)
Catherine Ducey (Mount Pearl)
Emma Hackett (Clarenville)
Nathan Lake (Conception Bay South)
Catherine Smith (Mount Pearl)

Angel Hiltz-Morrell (Avondale)
Erik Joy (Paradise)
Julianna Murphy (Colliers)
Dennis Sutton (St. John’s)