2018 Men’s National Team Development Camp

7 June 2018   Gilles Leblanc   Men’s National Team

Ottawa, Ont. – Softball Canada is pleased to announce the list of thirty-seven (37) athletes who will be attending the Men’s National Team Development Camp this weekend (June 8-10) in Innerkip, Ont. The athletes are all members of the Men’s National Team Athlete Pool.

The Development Camp will include physical and positional testing and a series of intersquad games scheduled on Friday and Saturday. The athletes will be divided among three teams and will play a total of six games at Innerkip Park. Game times are 4:00pm, 6:00pm and 8:00pm on Friday June 8 and 10:00am, 12:00pm and 2:00pm on Saturday June 9. Intersquad games are open to the public at no charge.

The Men’s National Team Coaching Staff will have the opportunity to see most members of the athlete pool who will be vying for spots on Team Canada at the upcoming 2019 WBSC Men’s Softball World Championship in the Czech Republic. The coaching staff will be naming the roster for the 2019 World Championship team following Softball Canada’s Men’s Canadian Championship that will take place August 29 to September 2 in St, Croix, N.S.

Team Canada is coming off a Bronze medal performance at the previous WBSC Men’s Softball World Championship held in Whitehorse in 2017 after winning Gold in Saskatoon in 2015. No tournaments are planned for the team in 2018.

The athletes participating at the 2018 Men’s National Team Development Camp are:


Bryan Abrey Richmond, B.C.
Brayden Arcand Morinville, Alta.
Keagan Arcand Morinville, Alta.
Ryan Boland St. John’s, N.L.
Shane Boland St. John’s, N.L.
Patrick Burns Saskatoon, Sask.
Kyle Cowick Sooke, B.C.
Jeff Ellsworth St. Lawrence, P.E.I.
Blair Ezekiel Harbour Main, N.L.
Kyle Ezekiel Holyrood, N.L.
Ryan French Cambridge, Ont.
Jason Hill St. John’s, N.L.
Brandon Horn Waterloo, Ont.
Blake Hunter Nanaimo, B.C.
Mark Johnson Glencoe, Ont.
Travis Jones Neyaashiinigmiing, Ont.
Caleb Keeshig Port Elgin, Ont.
Brett Larson Irma, Alta.
Jeff Lyons Appin, Ont.
Derek Mayson North Vancouver, B.C.
Steve Mullaley Freshwater, N.L.
Evan Normand Calgary, Alta.
Jeremy O’Reilly Placentia, N.L.
Brandon Parsons Irma, Alta.
Tyler Pauli Mitchell, Ont.
Tyler Randerson New Hamburg, Ont.
Bryn Redhead Leduc, Alta.
Mathieu Roy St-Gervais, Que.
Kevin Schellenberg Squamish, B.C.
Justin Schofield Grand Pre, N.S.
Ty Sebastian Brussels, Ont.
Andy Skelton Scarborough, Ont.
Blake Underwood Port Elgin, Ont.
Colin Walsh Petty Harbour, N.L.
Kris Walushka Victoria, B.C.
Ben Wideman Fergus, Ont.
Brady Woods Stonewall, Man.



Head Coach John Stuart Langley, B.C.
Assistant Coach Doug Allin Peachland, B.C.
Assistant Coach John Hill St. John’s, N.L.
Assistant Coach Les Howey Conception Bay, N.L.
Athletic Therapist Jordy Burgess Ottawa, Ont.
Athletic Therapist Adam Davies Ottawa, Ont.
Manager – MNT Mike Branchaud Ottawa, Ont.