Stars & Legends Awards Gala

The Sport NL Stars & Legends Awards Gala was held on Saturday, April 11th, 2015 at The Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland in St. John’s.

Softballers were amongst the Finalists in three of the eight categories: Senior Male Athlete of the Year, Coach of the Year and Team of the Year.

Softball NL Would Like To Congratulate Sean Cleary (Harbour Main) on being named the Senior Male Athlete of the Year and John Hill (St. John’s) on being named the Coach of the Year.

Sean Cleary was presented with the Ferd Hayward Memorial Award.

Congratulations Sean!

Sean Cleary (Softball)

Harbour Main softball player Sean Cleary continued to shine at the local, provincial, national and international level in 2014. In the St. John’s Senior Men’s Fastpitch League Sean lead his team to the regular season title, playoff title and provincial championship winning the MVP award in all three. As a member of 3Cheers Bud Light team, Sean won his 3rd consecutive national title and was named playoff MVP. Sean also had the privilege of suiting up for Team Canada at the Men’s Pan Am Championships and where he was a member of the bronze medal winning squad. In December 2014, Sean was named to the Senior Men’s National Team Athlete Pool for 2015. In recognition of his fine season, Sean was named the Softball Newfoundland and Labrador Senior Male Player of the Year

John Hill was presented with the John Drinkwater Memorial Award.

Congratulations John!

John Hill (Softball)

Softball coach John Hill has seen his share of success in 2014 on the field. As head coach of the 3Cheers Pub Bud Light Senior “A” Fastpitch Team, he led them to an 8-1 record at the Canadian Men’s Fastpitch Championships. Hill was also the Field Manager of the Hill United Chiefs where he guided them to a perfect 4-0 record at the Amateur Softball Association of America (ASA) National Championships and a perfect 6-0 record at the International Softball Federation (ISF) World Tournament. John Hill was named 2014 Softball Canada Coach of the Year, Softball Newfoundland and Labrador Coach of the Year and was named an Assistant Coach to Softball Canada’s Seniors Men’s National Team. John Hill has devoted his life to the game of Softball and through his professionalism and dedication his teams are always well prepared both on and off the field, which has proven him to be a world class coach.

NOTE: Softball NL Would Also Like To Congratulate NL 3Cheers Pub Bud Light.

NL 3Cheers Pub Bud Light were finalists for the Edward Browne Team of the Year Award, but that honour went to the Memorial University Women’s Soccer Team.

2014 Award Winners

Junior Female Athlete of the Year (Margaret Davis Memorial Award)
Winner: Heather Healey (Baseball)

Junior Male Athlete of the Year (Joseph P. Mullins Memorial Award)
Winner: Clark Bishop (Hockey)

Executive of the Year (Graham Snow Memorial Award)
Winner: Mark Healy (Baseball)

Volunteer of the Year Award (Frank W. Graham Memorial Award)
Winner: Mark Healy (Baseball)

Coach of the Year (John Drinkwater Memorial Award)
Winner: John Hill (Softball)

Team of the Year (Edward P. Browne Memorial Award)
Winner: Memorial University Women’s Soccer Team

Senior Female Athlete of the Year (Elizabeth Swan Memorial Award)
Winner: Jillian Forsey (Runner)

Senior Male Athlete of the Year (Ferd Hayward Memorial Award)
Winner: Sean Cleary (Softball)

2015 Sport NL Hall of Fame Inductees
Paul Barron–Builder–Ball Hockey
George Connors–Athlete/Veteran–Hockey
Bill Davis–Athlete–Softball
Carla Edwards–Athlete–Volleyball
Deon Goulding–Athlete/Builder–Volleyball
Trevor O’Brien–Athlete–Athletics

Softball NL would like to Congratulate all of the 2014 Award Winners & Finalists and the 2015 Hall of Fame Inductees.