Boland Scholarship Recipient

Softball Newfoundland and Labrador are extremely pleased to announce that Shane Boland (Goulds) was one of 19 individuals who were recently announced as scholarship recipients of the 2012 Sport Newfoundland and Labrador Scholarship Program.

The scholarships were awarded at a reception at the Johnson Geo Centre.

Congratulations Shane!

From SportNL

ST. JOHN’S – Sport Newfoundland and Labrador has announced the scholarship recipients of the 2012 Sport Newfoundland and Labrador Scholarship Program. Nineteen scholarships were awarded today at a reception at the Johnson Geo Centre.

“These scholarship winners are true examples of excellence in sport,” said Minister Dalley. “It is very important to acknowledge their accomplishments, both academic and athletic, and to encourage them in their chosen sport.”

The Sport Newfoundland and Labrador Scholarship Program provides financial assistance to qualifying amateur athletes, coaches and officials, who are enrolled in a post secondary institution, to assist in offsetting the costs of training and competition. The program has been in place for over 20 years, with thousands of dollars being distributed to deserving students around the province.

“We are very proud of these recipients,” said Doug Fowler, President of Sport Newfoundland and Labrador. “These athletes, coaches and officials work hard to promote their sports and these scholarships will help them to continue their pursuit for excellence in their athletics.”

This is the fifth year that Sport Newfoundland and Labrador is providing the Frank T. Butler Memorial Scholarship, valued at $1,000. Frank Butler was vital to the development of athletics at Memorial University, and played an integral part in developing interuniversity sport experience across Canada. This year, Justin Hearn of St. Joseph’s was the recipient of the Frank Butler Memorial Scholarship.

The recipients of Scholarships/Bursaries include:

Katherine Alexander (Paradise) Synchronized Swimming
Shane Boland (Goulds) Softball
Ben Colbourne (St. John’s) Rowing
Jennifer Cunningham (St. John’s) Curling
Katherine Edgecombe (Burin) Bay Arm Hockey
Brenda Greene (St. Joseph’s) Shooting
Suzannah Healey (Holyrood) Synchronized Skating
Garrett Mercer (Bay Roberts) Bowling
Erica Noonan (Stephenville) Cross Country Skiing
Kyle Power (Labrador City) Speed Skating
Victoria Ralph (Carbonear) Wrestling
Deidre Rees (Kilbride) Rugby
Robert Rogers (Portugal Cove-St. Phillip’s) Rugby
Ben Taylor (St. John’s) Shooting
Colin Thomas (St. John’s) Curling
Scott Whalen (Portugal Cove-St. Phillip’s) Bowling
Neilson Woodman (St. John’s) Shooting
Matthew Young (Corner Brook) Figure Skating
Justin Hearn – Frank T. Butler Scholarship (St. Joseph’s) Shooting

Sport Newfoundland and Labrador represents over 55 provincial sport organizations in Newfoundland and Labrador by providing programs and services in the promotion of sport and physical activity. Visit for information on programs offered by Sport Newfoundland and Labrador.