Softball NL Is Saddened To Learn That Denis (Dee) Murphy Passed Away On Thursday, September 06, 2018.

To Dee’s Family & Friends, Our Thoughts And Prayers Are With You During This Difficult Time.

Softball NL


Denis (Dee) Murphy had a lifetime passion for sport and his contributions to the local, provincial, national and international sporting communities are well documented.

Softball NL Board of Directors
-Served 13-Years As President (1963-1967 & 1969-1976).
-Was Named Life-Member Of Softball NL In 1976.
-Served 3-Years As Commissioner (1970, 1977-1978).

Softball NL Hall of Fame
-Inducted Into The Softball NL Hall of Fame In 1977 – Builder Category.

St. John’s Senior Ladies Softball League Executive, Championships & Awards
-Served 5-Years As President (1985-1988, 1990).
-Served 1-Year As Secretary (1989).
-Coached VOCM To The League Championship (1968).
-Coached Haig Stars To The League Championship (1973).
-Coached Black Horse To The League Championship (1979).
-Coached Labatt To Back-To-Back League Championships (1980-1981).
-Coached Big Ben’s To The League Championship (1987).
-Named Coach Of The Year (1979).

Softball NL Ladies Provincial Crowns
-Coached Black Horse To 4 Senior “A” Ladies Fastpitch Provincial Crowns (1975, 1976, 1977, 1979)
-Coached Labatt To 2 Senior “A” Ladies Fastpitch Provincial Crowns (1980-1981).
-Coached Labatt Lite To 1 Senior “B” Ladies Fastpitch Provincial Crown (1988).
-Coached St. John’s To 1 Junior “A” Ladies Fastpitch Provincial Crown (1980).

Senior “A” Ladies National Teams Coached
-Coached 9 Senior “A” Ladies National Teams.
-Provincial All-Stars (1977).
-Black Horse (1978-1979).
-Labatt (1980).
-Labatt St. John’s All-Stars (1982-1983).
-St. John’s All-Stars (1984, 1987-1988).

Junior “A” Ladies National Teams Coached
-St. John’s All-Stars (1980).

St. John’s Senior Men’s Fastpitch League
-Served 3-Years As President (1960, 1964-1965).
-Served 1-Year On 4-Man Council (1963).

National Softball Championship (Host Committees)
-Served On 6 Host Committees For National Championships.
-Junior Ladies (1977 – Chairman).
-Junior Men’s (1978 – Chairman, 1986 & 2000).
-Senior Men’s (2007 & 2016).

Softball Canada
-Board Member – Vice President (1972-1976).
-Named Life-Member (1981).
-Inducted Into Softball Canada Hall Of Fame In 1999 – Builder Category.

Sport Newfoundland Labrador (SportNL)
-Named Executive of the Year (1975).
-Inducted Into SportNL Hall Of Fame In 1985 – Builder Category.


Denis (Dee) Murphy
Passed away at St. Clare’s Mercy Hospital Thursday, September 6, Denis (Dee) Murphy. Born to Richard (Dick) and Mary (Foran) Murphy December 12, 1935. Besides his parents, he is predeceased by his brother Tom and his niece Janet Murphy. Celebrating his life are his wife of 59 years Bette (Tricco), children Richard (JoAnn), John, Denis, Mary (Jeffery Eldridge), Kelly and Ted (Nancy); grandchildren Michael Clarke, Robyn (Christina) White, Kathleen (Chris Price), Denis Murphy, Laura Clarke (Chuck Read), Matthew (Debbie) Clarke, Allan Roach, Andrew Murphy, Abigail Murphy (Zack), Megan Murphy, Tyler Murphy, Ethan Murphy and Liam Morrissey; great grandchildren Adrian Read, Alex Read, Hayden Price, Braxon Clarke, Lauren Price and Grayson Clarke. Sisters Ann Marie (Dave Gilbert), Joni (Monty Green), In-laws, Barb Baird, Sheila Wadland, Jack (Doreen) Tricco, Bern (Pat) Tricco, Marie (Frank) O’Reilly, Bill (Hettie) Tricco, Barb Dunn, Doug (Gail) Tricco, Micheal (Carlie) McDonald. Friends Angus Barrett, Ford Metcalfe, Bill Barron, Hugh Wadden, Paul Ring, Danny Williams and Glen Stanford. Dee spent his entire life working and volunteering for sport and was inducted into numerous halls of fame including Canadian, Provincial and St. John’s Softball Halls of Fame, Newfoundland and Labrador Sports Hall of Fame, Provincial Hockey Hall of Fame, Royal St. John’s Regatta Hall of Fame, Provincial Bowling Hall of Fame, Athletics Hall of Fame, Bell Island Sports Hall of Fame, and the Provincial Soccer Hall of Fame.

He was chairman of the St. John’s Athlete of the Year Committee for 29 years, the St. John’s Mercantile Hockey League for 16 years and coached ladies softball and soccer teams for 25 years. The founding president of provincial softball, he played a major role in the establishment of Canadian Softball and was a member of its first executive and a previous honorary life member. He served on the National Advisory Council for Fitness and Amateur Sport. He was an individual who appreciated sport and sought recognition for anyone he felt deserving. Resting at Carnell’s Funeral Home from 12 noon to 9:00 p.m. on Saturday, September 8th and Sunday, September 9th, 2018. Funeral Service will take place at St. Teresa’s Church, Mundy Pond Road, on Monday, September 10, 2018 at 10:00 am. Flowers welcome (although Dee thinks they are a waste of money) or donations may be made to the Canadian Mental Health Association NL Division, The Gathering Place or KidSport (NL Sports Federation).