Rose Hodgson Volunteer of the Year Award: Paul F. Smith

Softball NL Would Like To Take This Opportunity To Congratulate Paul F. Smith (Upper Gullies) On Being Selected As The Recipient Of The Softball Canada 2017 Rose Hodgson Volunteer of the Year Award.

Congratulations Paul F. Smith!

The Rose Hodgson Volunteer of the Year award will be presented to Paul F. Smith from Conception Bay South, Newfoundland and Labrador. Smith has been involved with softball for over 50 years as a player, coach, umpire and organizer, founding the Conception Bay South Minor Softball Association in 1993 and serving as its President until 2006. In 2009, Smith was elected to the Board of Softball Newfoundland and Labrador, holding a number of roles and positions including President from 2013 to 2017. Throughout the years, he has put all of his heart and soul into the sport of softball at the local and provincial level. He was recognized as a nominee for the 2016 Sport NL Executive of the Year Award, received the 2016 Bob Whelan Memorial Award for his outstanding contribution to the game of softball in Newfoundland and Labrador and was inducted to the Conception Bay South Sports Hall of Fame in 2017.

The Rose Hodgson Award, created by Softball Canada in 2008, recognizes the life and contributions of Rose Hodgson. Rose, who passed away in 2007 having served 9 years as an active Softball Canada Board member, contributed selflessly to the betterment of softball at the local, provincial and national levels. In her over 35 years as a volunteer, she always put players first and would support any initiative that gave them the opportunity to play and reach their dreams, whatever they were.

The Award Recipients will be recognized at the Softball Canada Hall of Fame and Awards Banquet on November 11th, 2017 in St. John’s, NL. The Banquet will be held in conjunction with the Softball Canada Congress and Annual General Meeting which will take place from November 9-11.

Members of Softball NL that have been named recipients of the Rose Hodgson Volunteer of the Year Award.

Rose Hodgson Volunteer of the Year Award
2011 Sherry Maher (Petty Harbour)