2012 Senior Men’s National Team Athlete Pool Announced
May 1, 2012
2012 Senior Men’s National Team Athlete Pool Announced
(Ottawa, ON) Softball Canada is pleased to announce the list of players who have been selected to the 2012-13 Senior Men’s National Team Athlete Pool. In 2012, the Senior Men’s National Team will compete at the VIII Pan American Softball Championship, which will take place from September 15 to 23, 2012 in Medellin, Colombia. This Championship will serve as a qualifier for the 2013 International Softball Federation (ISF) XIII Men’s World Championship, which will be held March 1 to 10, 2013 in Auckland, New Zealand.
“As a coaching staff, we are excited about our roster” said Men’s National Team Head Coach Don Bates. “A number of athletes have been working on transitioning to new positions over the past year or two. This will allow us to effectively match up against our opponents. Our team goal is to be a difficult team to play against, by utilizing speed, power, and a solid defense. The athletes are in terrific physical condition and are ready to face the challenges ahead – the Pan American Championship in Colombia in September 2012, followed by the ISF World Championship in New Zealand in March 2013.”
The athletes who have been selected to the 2012 Senior Men’s National Team Athlete Pool are:
1. Bryan Abrey (Richmond, BC)
2. Brian Banner (Sooke, BC)
3. Tyson Barkman (Abbotsford, BC)
4. Ryan Boland (St. John’s, NL)
5. Trevor Boutilier (Halifax, NS)
6. Sean Cleary (Harbour Main, NL)
7. Jeff Ellsworth (St. Lawrence, PEI)
8. Trevor Ethier (Saskatoon, SK)
9. Blair Ezekiel (Harbour Main, NL)
10. Brad Ezekiel (Harbour Main, NL)
11. Jeff Farion (Saskatoon, SK)
12. Ian Fehrman (Townsend, ON)
13. Ryan French (Kitchener, ON)
14. Calem Gardner (Squamish, BC)
15. Greg Garrity (Courtice, ON)
16. Justin Gill (St. John’s, NL)
17. Jason Hill (St. John’s, NL)
18. Adam Hiller (Elmira, ON)
19. Brandon Horn (Waterloo, ON)
20. Mark Johnson (Glencoe, ON)
21. Paul Koert (Brooklyn, ON)
22. Rowan Lam (Glencoe, ON)
23. Dale Levy (St. Mary’s, ON)
24. Derek Mayson (North Vancouver, BC)
25. Steve Mullaley (Freshwater, NL)
26. Grant Patterson (Penetanguishene, ON)
27. Allan Phibbs (Hagersville, ON)
28. Brennan Pokoyoway (Saskatoon, SK)
29. Mathieu Roy (St-Gervais, QC)
30. Jason Sanford (Durham, NS)
31. Kevin Schellenberg (Squamish, BC)
32. Don Scott (Stratford, ON)
33. Andy Skelton (Newmarket, ON)
34. Jeremy Tracy (Waterville, NB)
35. Sean Whitten (Calgary, AB)
36. Ben Wideman (Elmira, ON)
37. Ryan Wolfe (Melbourne, ON)
38. Brady Woods (Stonewall, MB)
The coaching staff reserves the right to add or remove athletes from this list at any time.
Coaching Staff
Head Coach: Don Bates (Saskatoon, SK)
Assistant Coach: Les Howey (Conception Bay, NL)
Assistant Coach: John Stuart (Vancouver, BC)
Assistant Coach: Glenn Boles (St. Catharines, ON)
For more information, please contact:
Gilles LeBlanc
Manager – Marketing and Communications
Softball Canada
(613) 523-3386 ext. 3105