2012 Junior Men’s National Team – Selection Camp

April 30th, 2012

2012 Junior Men’s National Team Selection Camp

(Ottawa, ON) Softball Canada is pleased to announce that the Junior Men’s National Team coaching staff has extended invitations to 27 male athletes to attend a Selection Camp which will take place from August 13 to 17 in Cambridge, Ontario. The camp will take place immediately following the U21 Men’s Canadian Fast Pitch Championship, which will be held August 6 to 12 in Owen Sound, Ontario.

“2012 will be a very exciting year for the Junior Men’s National Team program” stated Junior Men’s National Team Head Coach Tom Doucette. “The coaching staff is looking forward to the selection process in August and we are excited to start working with our young male athletes as we prepare for the ISF World Championship in Argentina.”

Following the Junior Men’s National Team selection camp in August, the coaching staff will identify 17 players who will represent Canada at the International Softball Federation (ISF) X Junior Men’s World Championship, which will take place November 1 to 10 in Parana, Argentina.

The athletes who have been invited to the 2012 Junior Men’s National Team Selection Camp are:

1. Cody Anthony (Shubenacadie, NS)
2. George Armstrong (Wingham, ON)
3. Cole Bolton (Flinton, ON)
4. Taylor Brown (Centreville, ON)
5. Cody Drobot (Irma, AB)
6. Alex Fehr (Saskatoon, SK)
7. Ambrose Firkus (Irma, AB)
8. Nick Gannon (Perth Road, ON)
9. Steven Goulet (St-Gervais, QC)
10. Eddie Heffernan (Placentia, NL)
11. Justice Keshane (Kamsack, SK)
12. Philippe Laflamme (St-Gervais, QC)
13. Michael Lagace-Roote (New Hamburg, ON)
14. Michael Lamontagne (St-Charles-de-Bellechasse, QC)
15. Rhys Langridge (Victoria, BC)
16. Brett Larson (Irma, AB)
17. Parker MacKay (Irma, AB)
18. Jake Mayo (Waterloo, ON)
19. Brodie McLean (Calahoo, ON)
20. Steven Normand (Calgary, AB)
21. Brad Peck (Surrey, BC)
22. Ty Sebastian (Brussels, ON)
23. Carson Soucy (Irma, AB)
24. Adam Stuck (Owen Sound, ON)
25. Jordan Swenson (Saskatoon, SK)
26. Corey Tuffnail (Tavistock, ON)
27. Brett Young (Taymouth, NB)

The coaching staff reserves the right to add or remove athletes from this list at any time.

Coaching Staff

Head Coach: Tom Doucette (Middle Musquodoboit, NS)
Assistant Coach: Doug Chase (Port Alberni, BC)
Assistant Coach: Jim Jones (Leduc, AB)
Assistant Coach: George Ryder (Port Dover, ON)
Team Leader: Duke Cormier (Summerside, PEI)


For more information, please contact:

Gilles LeBlanc
Manager – Marketing and Communications
Softball Canada
(613) 523-3386 ext. 3105