SC Announces 2014 Senior Men’s National Team Athlete Pool

(Ottawa, ON) Softball Canada is pleased to announce the list of athletes who have been selected to the 2014 Senior Men’s National Team Athlete Pool. In 2014, the Senior Men’s National Team will compete at the Pan American Championship which will take place from October 25 to November 2, 2014 in Parana, Argentina.

The Pan American Championship will serve as a qualifier for the 2015 International Softball Federation (ISF) XIV Men’s World Championship which will be held June 26 to July 5, 2015 in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan and also for the 2015 Pan American Games that will take place the following week in Toronto, Ontario.

Canada is the defending champion of the Pan American Championship, having defeated Venezuela 4-1 to win the Gold medal at the previous event held in Colombia in 2012.

“The Senior Men’s National Team coaching staff are excited about our 40-man athlete pool” said Men’s National Team Head Coach Don Bates. “Offensively, we have a good mix of speed, power, and on-base percentage. Defensively we are solid in the infield, outfield, behind the plate, and in the pitcher’s circle. We have a number of young talented players who we feel will be challenging for starting positions.”

The athletes who have been selected to the 2014 Canadian Senior Men’s National Team Athlete Pool are:

Bryan Abrey (Richmond, BC)
Donnelly Archibald (Antigonish, NS)
Brian Banner (Sooke, BC)
Ryan Boland (St. John’s, NL)
Shane Boland (Goulds, NL)
Sean Cleary (Harbour Main, NL)
Justin Dauvin (Bruno, SK)
Jeff Ellsworth (St. Lawrence, PEI)
Trevor Ethier (Saskatoon, SK)
Blair Ezekiel (Harbour Main, NL)
Brad Ezekiel (Harbour Main, NL)
Jeff Farion (Saskatoon, SK)
Ian Fehrman (Townsend, ON)
Ryan French (Kitchener, ON)
Justin Gill (St. John’s, NL)
Matt Greer (Shawville, QC)
Mitch Hardy (Alberton, PEI)
Jason Hill (St. John’s, NL)
Adam Hiller (Elmira, ON)
Brandon Horn (Waterloo, ON)
Blake Hunter (Nanaimo, BC)
Mark Johnson (Glencoe, ON)
Paul Koert (Brooklin, ON)
Rowan Lam (Glencoe, ON)
Scott Lieph (Sooke, BC)
Derek Mayson (North Vancouver, BC)
Devon McCullough (Saskatoon, SK)
Dan Mitchell (Paris, ON)
Steve Mullaley (Freshwater, NL)
Brennan Pokoyoway (Saskatoon, SK)
Mathieu Roy (St-Gervais, QC)
Jason Sanford (Durham, NS)
Kevin Schellenberg (Squamish, BC)
Justin Schofield (Wolfville, NS)
Don Scott (Stratford, ON)
Andy Skelton (Scarborough, ON)
Kris Walushka (Victoria, BC)
Sean Whitten (Calgary, AB)
Ben Wideman (Elmira, ON)
Ryan Wolfe (Melbourne, ON)  

The coaching staff reserves the right to add or remove athletes from this list at any time.

Coaching Staff

Head Coach: Don Bates (Saskatoon, SK)
Assistant Coach: Les Howey (Conception Bay, NL)
Assistant Coach: John Stuart (Vancouver, BC)
Assistant Coach: TBD
Manager – National Teams: Mike Branchaud (Ottawa, ON)


For more information, please contact:

Gilles LeBlanc
Manager – Marketing and Communications
Softball Canada
(613) 523-3386 ext. 3105